Getting to Lausanne

From the Geneva Airport (GVA)

Geneva Airport (GVA) is the closest airport to Lausanne in Western Switzerland. Direct trains from Geneva Airport to Lausanne are available around five times per hour with traveling times around 50 minutes, costing 27 CHF.

From Zurich Airport (ZRH)

The average journey time from Zurich Airport (ZRH) to Lausanne by train is approximately 2 hours 30 minutes, costing 78 CHF. Around 8 trains per day travel the 112 miles (180 km) between these two destinations.

The train tickets can be purchased at the SBB (Swiss Federal Railways) machines at the airport using credit/debit cards or cash. Alternatively you may also purchase tickets online at or via the smartphone app (available at App Store and Google Play). If you like to purchase your train ticket earlier, we recommend checking “supersaver tickets”. This means you can travel on many Swiss public transport routes with a discount of up to 70%. Car rental services can be found here for Geneva airport and here for Zurich airport.

Entering Switzerland

Citizens of EU and EFTA (Iceland, Liechtenstein, Norway, Switzerland) member states do not require a visa to enter Switzerland. If you come from another country, whether or not you need a visa depends on your nationality. The website of the State Secretariat for Migration provides you with an overview of ID and visa provisions according to nationality.

Switzerland belongs to the Schengen Area*. If you have a visa issued by a Schengen member state, you generally do not require an additional tourist visa to enter Switzerland or any other Schengen country. Your stay must not exceed 90 days in any 180-day period.

If you have one of the following residence permits, you do not require a visa to enter Switzerland or another Schengen country for a maximum of 90 days in any 180-day period. This applies regardless of your nationality:

  • B permit (residence permit)
  • C permit (settlement permit)
  • L permit (short-term residence permit)
  • Ci permit (resident permit with gainful employment)
  • Legitimation card issued by the Federal Department of Foreign Affairs

* The 26 Schengen member states are: Austria, Belgium, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Greece, Germany, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Liechtenstein, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Norway, Poland, Portugal, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, Switzerland.